Reviews

Great hotel - Rating 4/5

A great little hotel with nice clean rooms, great staff and a cellar bar with live music. Absolutely perfect.

Reviewer: Mr. Ben Limbrick | Sun 23rd Oct 2016


Great base for Kennet & Avon Canal - Rating 5/5

I chose The Swan for a 3-night stay as a base for 2 days\' cycling along the Kennet & Avon Canal. Poor start - no parking place available & the lad who checked me in seemed in a hurry! However I was very pleased with my room (room 6) which was very comfortable - lovely double bed, great tv, very nice shower, plenty of wardrobe space, well lit, and lots of little extras - 2 bottles of water, delicious biscuits, extra toiletries etc. - that make all the difference. I found all the staff very pleasant, friendly and obliging, especially Olivia. I was phoned at 10.30pm to let me know a parking place had been vacated by staff; one male employee escorted me to the back entrance to show me exactly where the newsagents\' was - little defining moments, very important! The £100pn price was about right - not a rip-off and not a fantastic bargain! I would definitely stay here again. The canal towpath between Bath and Devizes (not beyond Devizes) is one of the finest cycle trails in GB and perhaps more of this could be made in your publicity. One slight criticism - the dinner menu was very strongly biased towards Thai cuisine. This will be a \'plus\' for many people but my diet is very traditional. The soup on offer was mushroom three nights running (the chef kindly prepared potato/tomato soup for me on Wed!!)and there was no brownie on the last night. A completed evaluation form hadn\'t been collected from my room over the previous days and a \'fire exit\' sign was missing on the ceiling above an emergency exit, but these are only minor points. Many thanks to you & your colleagues for a very enjoyable stay in Bradford-on-Avon. John

Reviewer: Mr. John Green | Fri 26th Aug 2016


One night wonder! - Rating 4/5

Lovely Hotel, cannot fault it, stayed prior a 24 hour 3 Peak Challenge, whilst on top of one Peak, received text to say they had no hot water, so could cancel the planned stay on returning from the Peaks - which I did. Not easy finding an alternative on a Bank Holiday w/end.I was so looking forward to a lovely bath and a relaxing night.Shame.

Reviewer: Mr. Iain Fisher | Tue 21st Jun 2016


adequate for my journey - Rating 4/5

Location near to rail station. Clean and cozy room. Good and warm service :)

Reviewer: Mr. Meik Fernberg | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Lovely short break! - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for good value, great location and friendly staff, this is the place to go! Lovely open fire in the bar area and very comfotable and spacious rooms. Just wish our stay had been longer so we could have tried the extensive Thai menu served!

Reviewer: Mrs. Esther Davies | Mon 7th Mar 2016


right in the centre of Bradford - Rating 3/5

I had wanted to stay at the Swan for many years as it is such an historic building and right in the centre of town. I booked online and got a cheap rate because it was a late booking. I was very pleased that we did, because although I was happy to pay £85, I would have been very disappointed if we had paid £135. Although there are some lovely bits, the decor of the whole hotel is tired and unappealing. Our room was fine, the bed very comfortable, and the facilities what we expected. However, it was very difficult to have a satisfying shower as there was very little pressure on the hot water. I also cleaned the mould off the shower head before I used it. There was a good choice for breakfast and we had no complaints with that. The manager was very professional and courteous.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry we did not quite meet up to your expectations on some aspects of your stay, we have recently repainted all the rooms and our maintenance schedule is an ongoing programme with a building that is over 300 years old, having said that we certainly appreciate your comments on the room and will look into this in detail. Generally speaking we do not have problems with water pressure, particularly in the room you were in and I am very sorry about this, we would like to assure any readers of this review that it is not an issue we have had before or indeed since. Thank you once again for your review an we hope we can welcome you back again to enjoy the beautiful town of Bradford on Avon and all it has to offer

Reviewer: Mrs. Susan Mashford | Tue 1st Mar 2016


7/11/2015 - Rating 3/5

Second stay with you, very friendly staff. Disappointed that original booking for 2 Deluxe rooms was not met, error at hotel so took edge off our visit this occasion.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, yes we sincerely apologise about the mix up of not being able to give you one of the rooms you had booked, but glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay

Reviewer: Mr. Andy Williams | Mon 9th Nov 2015


1st Anniversary Weekend - Rating 4/5

We decided to come back to the town where we first met. The Swan is in an ideal location in the centre of town. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer: Mrs. Claire Maule | Thu 20th Aug 2015


40th Birthday Celebrations - Rating 4/5

A friendly, hospitable hotel in a lovely setting. The ideal place for a weekend get-away with friends.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jayne Watkins | Fri 3rd Jul 2015


Surprise family get together - Rating 5/5

I had never been to this hotel before but booked it as a surprise for my husbands birthday, with 4 other couples. All aspects of booking were easy online, and all questions answered excellently my the staff before I booked. On arrival, the hotel had everything ready for us, and were brilliant! Service and attention to details and keeping things secret, they were great! The rooms were large and airy and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I cannot thank the hotel staff enough and would recommend this hotel for a weekend or night away in a lovely part of the English countryside.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jayne Watkins | Thu 2nd Jul 2015


very relaxed - Rating 5/5

found the hotel to have lovely character.The room was very clean & comfortable.All the staff were very friendly & helpful.We enjoyed our stay & would stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. david starkie | Sat 27th Jun 2015


The Swan Hotel - Rating 5/5

An excellent hotel in a beautiful location. Clean and comfortable the hotel retains historic charms. The staff are polite and welcoming - I would thoroughly recommend

Reviewer: Mrs. Carol Robertson | Wed 6th May 2015


Great Location! - Rating 4/5

Interesting mix of high quality rooms and \'public bar\' type eating! Food was good at dinner and breakfast but environment a bit \'functional\'. Definitely the best place to stay to take in the sights of the town. They even turn the church clock of at night..relief!!

Reviewer: Mr. John Wright | Thu 9th Apr 2015


Swan around - Rating 5/5

Lovely family run inn. Guest rooms are large and very well presented....and the bed was huge! Good food, drinks, atmosphere and always something interesting on in the evening. Within a few minutes walk to the train station, which is only 15 mins from Bath.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Newton | Tue 7th Apr 2015


Week end stay - Rating 4/5

Warm and friendly welcome. Nice room clean and tidy. Good staff when we had dinner, food good. Breakfast good as well as staff. Would be happy to stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. MARTIN STEARN | Sun 22nd Mar 2015


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome, helpful staff and a lovely old hotel. Great for short break but room was a bit tired looking, no soap for hand basin and no toilet roll. Just little things that need checking but overall a great spot to explore Bath from, relaxing.

Reviewer: Mr. Andy Williams | Sun 1st Mar 2015


Quaint Old Hotel with Warm Welcome - Rating 4/5

We stayed overnight at the Swan whilst visiting friends. The staff were very welcoming and the room comfortable with a very large four poster bed. Breakfast next morning was freshly cooked with tasty items of our choice. We enjoyed our stay although it was brief.

Response

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer: Mrs. Jill Coulthard | Sat 3rd Jan 2015


Most Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

We were visiting Bradford on Avon to attend a concert at the Music Centre. Found the Swan by Google and booked for 2 nights Dinner B&B. Our most lasting impression will be of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The room was comfortable and of a good size. Food quality was good both at dinner and breakfast. There is a very extensive menu for the former. Would certainly recommend and stay again.

Response

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer: Mr. David Forder | Tue 16th Dec 2014


Swan Hotel - Rating 4/5

Good location in the centre of Bradford. Room reasonable although lack of hot water was disappointing although compensation provided.

Response

Thank you for your feedback, once again we apologise for the problems with the hot water which has now been corrected and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future

Reviewer: Mr. Phil Gibson | Fri 5th Dec 2014


Family trip - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I loved our stay at the Swan! It was like being in someones home. Clean, warm and friendly. The food was good and the service was great. Hopefully we will be back!

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer: Mrs. Yvonne Gosselin | Sat 22nd Nov 2014


super pub with rooms - Rating 4/5

very welcoming staff, good size rooms, nice food and super breakfast. Also serves excellent beer in formt of log fire. Perfect for a country weekend and 5 minutes form train to bath.

Reviewer: Mrs. Sylvia Robinson | Mon 17th Nov 2014


Stay - Rating 3/5

Rooms very comfortable and clean. Food nice but some confusion with the type of crumble!

Reviewer: Mrs. Sarah Read | Fri 4th Jul 2014


pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

we were upgraded to a lovely room with a four poster bed and enjoyed our stay, friendly staff and good location.

Reviewer: Helen Singer | Sun 25th May 2014


good place! - Rating 4/5

Convoluted building - many stairs. Initial impression - corridors and general areas are dirty. BUT rooms are not,good cleanliness and very comfy beds. Meals are cleanly presented by very friendly staff. Warmed to the place after one day and thoroughly enjoyed being invited to sit in when Folk Club had their musical evening. Overall - a good place.

Reviewer: Elaine Ballard | Wed 14th May 2014


Anniversary Celebration - Rating 5/5

Very impressed with our two nights stay, friendly welcome, excellent room, lovely bedding and very clean. (nice to have make tea in a teapot not in cups)Breakfast and evening meals most enjoyable and attentive staff. Would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel to friends.

Reviewer: Mrs. Mary Farmer | Wed 23rd Apr 2014


Another lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed several times at The Swan over the last year whilst visiting our son in Bath. It is a lovely hotel, old and quirky and so much better than the boring corporate hotels one becomes accustomed to. The staff are excellent and I would particularly like to mention the waitress at breakfast yesterday morning who was outstanding and very attentive. Breakfast is served to order and extremely good too. Thank you and we shall be returning again soon. Sharon

Reviewer: Mrs. Sharon Cox | Tue 22nd Apr 2014


Anniversary Jaunt - Rating 4/5

From checking in to checking out, on our one night stay, all the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel ideally located in the town. Food was excellent. Good atmosphere in the bar areas. Great room!

Reviewer: Mr. Adrian Tate | Tue 22nd Apr 2014


Mr - Rating 4/5

Everything was fine - we've been before and will certainly visit again

Reviewer: Keith Rushworth | Wed 9th Apr 2014


swan hotel - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic stay. Room was excellent for the price asked. Very friendly atmosphere, food was fantastic an will 100% be coming again!

Reviewer: Rose Clift | Sun 6th Apr 2014


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Conference
  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family rooms
  • City centre
  • Bridal suite
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding functions
  • Romantic breaks
  • Walking holidays

Contact Details

Swan Hotel
1 Church Street
Bradford-on-Avon
Wiltshire
BA15 1LN
Tel: 01225 868686
Fax: 01225868681
stay@theswanbradford.co.uk